What happened to the 10 Republicans who voted to impeach Trump?


Ten House Republicans voted to impeach Donald Trump on a charge of inciting an insurrection after a mob of his supporters stormed the Capitol on Jan. 6, 2021, ransacking the building and injuring more than 100 members of law enforcement. The lawmakers argued that the former president’s rhetoric and actions encouraged thousands of his supporters to behave violently in their quest to overturn the results of the 2020 presidential election. And for some, that made Trump unfit for office even as his presidency was winding down.

Here’s a look at those individuals’ political fortunes:

Cheney has arguably become the most vocal critic of the former leader of her party, which has in return led to her receiving significant scorn from Trump and his supporters. She has repeatedly attempted to make the case on the select committee investigating Jan. 6 that Trump was directly responsible for the violent insurrection. As a result, the former president endorsed Cheney’s primary opponent, Harriet Hageman, who won in August, thus ending the former House Republican Conference chair’s congressional career — but not influence. She endorsed several Democrats who defeated Trump loyalists in the general election.

Rice was a frequent supporter of Trump during his presidency — a move that was in part influenced by the former president’s popularity in the lawmaker’s conservative district. But following the insurrection, the lawmaker called Trump’s behavior an “utter failure” and “inexcusable” and voted to reprimand him. An angry Trump responded by endorsing Rice’s primary opponent, leading to the end of the lawmaker’s nearly decade-long congressional career.

Rep. David G. Valadao (R-Calif.)

Valadao represents a district that President Biden won in 2020, which may have factored into his willingness to work with Democrats since first arriving in Congress a decade ago. The lawmaker called Trump “a driving force” in the Jan. 6 attacks and went on to describe the president’s words as “un-American” and “abhorrent.” He was locked in a tight battle to retain his seat representing the largely Latino district more than a week after Election Day, and finally won narrowly.

Rep. Peter Meijer (R-Mich.)

Meijer was a freshman when he headed to Washington to represent a district previously represented by a lawmaker who voted in favor of Trump’s first impeachment. Meijer followed suit after the insurrection accusing Trump of shrinking “from leadership when our country needed it most” when he refused to encourage his supporters to back down. The former president responded by endorsing Meijer’s primary opponent, John Gibbs. In the general election, Democrat Hillary Scholten defeated Gibbs and will be the first Democrat to hold the seat in four decades.

Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler (R-Wash.)

The lawmaker arrived in Washington with the class of tea-party Republicans promising to hold the White House responsible for its actions, and claimed to be doing just that following the attack on the Capitol. Herrera Beutler represented a swing district, which may have influenced her decision to vote for Trump’s impeachment….

Read More: What happened to the 10 Republicans who voted to impeach Trump?

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Live News

Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.